The Sunshine Award

It’s always so gratifying and an honor to receive an award from someone, for anything really, but especially for what I write on the blogosphere.  This one is incredibly special because it comes during one of the saddest times in my life, it’s ironically called the Sunshine Award and it comes from one of the sunniest bloggers I know – Melissa Janda from The Buzz on Writing.  (If you don’t follow her blog, I suggest you do so immediately).

sunshine-award1So what is the Sunshine Award? It’s “recognition from fellow bloggers to those who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”   Wow!  It’s an honor, right?  To positively and creatively inspire anyone is incredible to me and to be recognized for it makes me as joyful as a Kardashian surrounded by cameras.

The Rules

*  Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog

*  Link to the person who nominated you

*  Answer 10 questions about yourself

*  Nominate 10 bloggers

*  Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs letting them know they have been nominated

Here we go!

10 Things about Me

Favorite Color:    I love, love, love Caribbean blue and purple. Sorry, can’t pick just one.  The blue both energizes and calms me.  It makes me think of the ocean and the beach – - a place I love.  Purple is spiritual and the color of royalty.  Since I feel very certain that I was a pampered princess in a previous lifetime, it’s fitting, wouldn’t you say?

Favorite Animal:   I love animals but I would have to say cats.  They fascinate me, their attitude toward life is enviable and I adore Grumpy Cat.  Now if we are talking about being a crazy eccentric with so much money I can own whatever I want, it would be a toss up between a koala bear and an elephant.

Favorite Number:   It used to be 7, like everybody else, but I am currently partial to 8.  I have no idea why exactly because it’s not my birth month, not my birth date and I have no apparent connection to it whatsoever.  But it calls to me.  If numbers can do that, of course.

Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink:    Dr. Pepper.  I know.  I have quit Dr. Pepper many a time.  It’s so bad for me.  But I love it.  My name is Lori.  I am a Pepper.  And an addict.  Please help me.

Favorite Alcoholic Drink:    Wine coolers.  No, I am not 15.  I am not a big drinker as is and I am very picky about my mixed drinks.  I’ll happily take a Screwdriver but if you make it with pulpy orange juice, I will shoot you death rays from my eyes as I gag.  Give me an Exotic Berry wine cooler and all is good so long as it’s not warm.

Facebook or Twitter:    Facebook.  There is a reason it’s known as Crackbook to me.  Give me Facebook and a case of Dr. Pepper and you won’t see me for days.

My Passions:    Reading.  Writing.  ‘Rithmetic.  (Just kidding.  Wanted to see if you were paying attention).  Old movies.  (Look at my avatar).  Cooking (at times).  Sports (Nascar, baseball).  My family and friends.  Fantasizing about where I want to travel in Europe.

Prefer Getting or Giving Presents   Absolutely giving.  I’ve always enjoyed watching the reactions of the recipients when opening presents because I normally put a lot of thought into it.

Favorite City:   Not exactly a city but I love Orange County, California.  So many happy memories there.  Perfect weather 99% of the time, 15 or so minutes from the beach no matter where you are in the OC and this fantastic Mexican restaurant called Miguel’s Jr. that I love with the fire of a thousand suns.  I also love Atlanta, Georgia because I am from there and almost all my family is still there.  And you will find real sweet tea, every soft drink can be a “Coke”, there is the Varsity and you can’t get much better than that.

Favorite TV Shows:    I love The Real Housewives franchise.  Don’t judge.  I know they are ridiculous but they make me feel superior and they help me to keep my inner snark alive and well.  I also like The Dead Files, Kitchen Nightmares (I have a thing for jerks), Ripper Street, Downton Abbey and recently began watching Hannibal.

And my nominations are: {drumroll please}

1.  Movies, Silently:  As a classic movie whore junkie, I love blogs that are devoted to old movies.  This one covers not just the silents you’ve heard but the silents that have slipped into basic obscurity and reminds us why filmmaking is such an art.

2.  Philippa Jane Keyworth:  I love historical fiction and I love Regency England.  Yes, I am looking for Mr. Darcy.  So Ms. Keyworth’s site is a gem.  I love reading the historical facts and I love seeing the Regency fashion.  Win-win!

3.  A Confederacy of Spinsters:  Holy cow, these gals are funny.  They will talk about everything from fashion (or lack thereof) to dating to tampons to whatever strikes their fancy.  And it’s all a hoot.  Great way to start your day.

4.  Kristen Lamb’s Blog:  Great author, fun posts and she gives writing advice.  Trifecta of perfection! (Oh yes, and she has cats!)

5.  Authors Helping Authors Resource Site:  As a struggling writer, I appreciate every bit of advice I can get.  And if it’s from people who know their business and are successful, even better.

6.  Austenprose:  As a Jane Austen fanatic, Austenprose is a gold mine.  You can definitely get your fill, and then some.  Plus, Laurel Ann is a great writer herself and a sweet person to boot!

7.  A Brave Heart:  Michelle is a fabulous person and her love for historical fiction really comes through both here and at her True Book Addict site.  Highly recommended!

8.   Fog’s Movie Reviews:  Fog reviews all kinds of movies and he does so eloquently and precisely.  His reviews make me want to drag out my DVD of said movie and watch.  Repeatedly.

Okay, so I’ve only got 8.  Sue me.

There you have it.  Thank you, Melissa, for nominating me and getting me off my overwhelmed, stressed out (and now smaller) butt to get back to blogging.  On to bigger and better things!

6 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

    • Thank you, Kate! I just found your blog, also thanks to the lovely Melissa, and I love, love, love your blog title. Look forward to catching up with it!

Leave a Reply

