Weekly Weigh In

So I decided to follow my friend Megan’s advice and officially weigh myself in only once a week instead of daily.  Of course I have still been getting on the scale every morning and watching my weight fluctuate all over the board.  It’s crazy.  In any event, my weight this morning was 143 pounds.  I still have a ways to go.

My exercise is still limited to walking the dog twice a day and taking the stairs rather than the elevator.  Hopefully I can get myself motivated to go to the fitness room and hit the treadmill or elliptical.

I also cheated this week.  Thursday was such a long, exhausting day that I simply could not bear the thought of coming home and figuring out something to cook and then actually cooking it.  So I picked up Los Primos (Mexican, yum) on the way home.  I got a beef burrito – – unbelievably delicious but so not part of my diet.  I mentioned to Junior that if I had gotten the burrito minus the beef I would have been okay.  He said “Ewwww” and made a face but truly . . . it really wouldn’t be that bad.  It’s like a bean burrito but hold the beans because I can’t stand them.  There is rice and lettuce and sour cream and it does come with a scrumptious red sauce so cutting the meat really wouldn’t be a terrible sacrifice.

And there’s more . . . at lunch on Friday I had a small cup of Dr. Pepper.  I gave in, I admit.  But it really wasn’t good.  I didn’t drink the cup and threw probably half of it out.  All I could think of – – besides the fact that it really didn’t taste as good as I thought it would – – is how awful I felt almost 3 weeks ago when I had those withdrawal symptoms.  It certainly makes water sound better.

Hubby and I went to the movies last night, a mini date night, if you will.  We saw Premium Rush, which I actually enjoyed a great deal.  I loved seeing New York and I really liked Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  I did have a Slurpee during the movie and some popcorn.  Again, I cheated.   Sigh.  And to top it off, the cute little pearl beaded bracelet I was wearing came off at some point in the theater or parking lot and I didn’t notice until we got home and I couldn’t find it.  Don’t you hate it when that happens?  I just hope that whoever finds it will wear it and enjoy it.

Today I made Mediterranean Crusted Tilapia for dinner – – and I didn’t like it.  Maybe the fish was bad?  In any event, I hate taking the time and effort to make a good entrée for a meal and getting excited over what kind of delicacy I might turn out and it just doesn’t work.

I hope everyone is having a good weekend.  I am spending the day tomorrow at a writers’ fair at UCLA.  I can’t wait.  I hope to meet some interesting people and get inspired to start working on my novel again.

Happy Saturday evening!

Leave a Reply

