And I’m Back!

Okay, so I’ve been horrible about posting daily.  In fact, it’s been two weeks since I posted last.  I have no excuse other than life always seems to get in the way.  And by life I mean working at my job (that most days I don’t like), paying bills, grocery shopping, running errands, the Husband and Junior.  Oh, and let’s not forget football season and the new fall tv season.

I did weigh in last Saturday and this past Saturday and I weighed exactly the same both times – 143 pounds.  I’m glad the weight hasn’t crept back up but I’m disappointed that I’m not about ten pounds lighter.  I’ve been fairly decent on my diet but I’ve had days where I’ve slipped too.  When my work day is super stressful I’ve found that I have a difficult time sticking to my diet.

On a better news front, I joined a San Diego writing group and attended my first class last Thursday.  It’s on “Crafting the First Chapter” and it was fantastic.   Only five of us (because two didn’t show) and it was perfect as far as interacting with the instructor.  My homework assignment, if you want to call it that, was to email my draft first chapter to my instructor by Sunday night.  Yikes!

Here has been my problem for years and years with regard to my writing.  I can come up with ideas all day long but I have difficulty getting what’s in my head to the paper and then staying jazzed on the idea to begin with.

I had hoped to begin working on the chapter Friday evening when I got home from work.  No go.  I ended up dozing off on the sofa around 7.  Guess I was more tired than I thought.  Got up Saturday morning and was distracted by Facebook and back to back home repair episodes on A&E.  I love those.  When I was finally ready to get down to business, Husband needed help finding the maintenance folder on his truck, then he needed me to pick him up from the repair place.  Then Junior asked me every two minutes where something went or where something was.  Sigh.  I’m not going to lie.  I was frustrated.  My first thought was to say that I was just going to have to wait to work on my writing until Junior was grown and Husband was back out to sea.

But no!  I was going to write!  It’s important to me.  So I did.

I sat down and wrote half my first chapter.  I felt incredible, great.  I had done it!  I had started it!

Yesterday I was watching football (and catching a nap or two in between) and didn’t start until about 5.  It was rough at first.  I couldn’t get into that zen place and I worried.  What if I couldn’t get back into character?  What if I had lost it?

It took a good fifteen or twenty minutes but I finally got it back and two hours later, I was typing the last sentence of my chapter one.  I felt exhilirated, tired, relieved, scared.

On Thursday night, we’ll have a workshop of sorts and the teacher will critique our first chapters.  I have my fingers and toes crossed.  I’m curious to know what she’ll say and I’m scared.

Wishing everyone a great week!

Leave a Reply

