Critiqued

Last night was the night.  I received my critique from my draft first chapter.

I can’t lie.  I was disappointed.  The idea I have is good but my writing is an issue.  The first half of my chapter was too much “telling” and not “showing”.  My instructor noted that she was quickly bored and I lost her.  Definitely not what a writer – – or aspiring writer – – wants to hear.  It’s like a knife through the heart.

The good news, I suppose, is that she said once I started dialogue, she was hooked.  She wished a particular scene had been longer and she loved a character I penned.  Not my main character, by the way.  Another issue I need to address.

Again, I’m disappointed.  I’m not giving up although it did cross my mind that maybe novel writing isn’t what I’m supposed to do.  Maybe I should stick with writing book reviews (which, of course, is quite different than writing a novel).  Thinking more on it, though, I’m not ready to throw in the novel writing towel yet.

So a question for you fellow writers out there . . . how do you overcome setbacks?  What do you do when you doubt your writing and your path?  How do you handle less-than-glowing critiques?  Do you attend writing classes or review groups?

Another piece of good news .  . . it’s Friday!

 

2 thoughts on “Critiqued

  1. Hi Lori,

    I took a writer’s workshop in the continuuing education department of our local community college. The format worked for me: each memeber of the class brought a piece of his of her writing, and the other class members gave constructive critism. I was terrified on the first night, both to read my work aloud and to hear what people thought of it, but the other class members turned out to be very supportive and encouraging. And they told the truth, nicely. My work improved considerably with the class alone, but the best part is that few members of the class formed a Monday night writer’s group, which keeps the improvement going and keeps me on task. Maybe a class or a writer’s group might help you?

    Eyes on the prize Lori. I think the desire is half the battle, the rest you can learn with practice.

Leave a Reply

