A Week Later

I survived my critique and have lived to tell about it.  It still sucks though.

I have not given up, simply reevaluated.  I obviously need more practice and I need to hone my craft.  I also may be looking to write the wrong kind of story, at least right now.  A friend mentioned to me that she thinks I am suited for writing light humor.  Could be.  I can do smart ass with ease so humor isn’t a problem.  My draft first chapter was the polar opposite of humor with absolutely no smart ass-ery anywhere in sight.

So I am thinking on that.

I attended The Big Orange Book Festival last weekend.  LOVED. IT.  It was worth rising at 5:45 on a Saturday morning to drive an hour and a half north.  I met authors Sharon Lathan and Syrie James, who were discussing Jane Austen, and it completely geeked me out.  I could just imagine getting into a time machine and meeting Jane Austen.  I would probably have a heart attack (or at the very least, a panic attack) on the spot.  But I digress.

For aspiring writers (and even those published ones, you lucky dogs) I can’t recommend enough how inspirational book festivals and fairs are.  If you recall, I attended the UCLA Writers Faire last month.  Came home energized and revved up to write.  Same thing after attending a panel at The Big Orange Book Festival.  In fact, I broke out my laptop and began typing up a character study.  Yep, I was that inspired.

As I am fighting to keep my eyes open this afternoon and given family appointments later on, I doubt I will get much done in the way of writing today.  That’s okay.  I tend to be very hard on myself when it comes to when and what I write.  Do you?  But the ideas are always rolling around in my head, begging to be let out.

I did write a blog post this morning for my side business.  It’s about taking the truth,  turning it on its ear and letting your imagination run wild.  It was born from a quote by author and teacher Zola Lawrence.  This is a shameless self plug, but check out the post here and let me know what you think.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

