The Best Laid Plans

Murphy’s Law has been hard at work with me this weekend.  Despite having a nice little plan laid out for my Saturday (taking my car in to the shop, doing cleaning and organizing until lunchtime and then reading and working on my writing), it hasn’t gone my way.  I did get my car into the shop but nothing else went my way.

First, I went to bed on Friday night at 9 p.m.  And no, I’m not in third grade but I was exhausted.  When you wake up at 3:15 in the morning, lasting until 9 p.m. is a long day.  Anyhow, I went to sleep at 9 p.m. and slept until 6:15 Saturday morning.  Way too much sleep for me.  I woke feeling groggy and hot.  I felt okay when dropping off the car but came home and almost immediately felt feverish, heachache-y and, well, hung over.  I didn’t have a drop of alcohol but I felt dehydrated.

I normally drink water all day long while at work.  I shouldn’t be dehydrated.  I felt downright miserable nearly all day.  I felt queasy and lying down actually made it worse.  I did start to feel better when we left the house to get my car, well enough for us to grab dinner while we were out.  Felt decent when we got back.  Felt okay waking up this morning but now I am feeling puny again.

The last month I have had intermittent stomach cramping, and not just after I eat.  It seems that I feel “off” more and more often.  I feel fatigued and tired more than I think I should.  Going on sites like webmd.com will either confuse you, scare you or both.

I am wondering if anyone out there has allergies that give them these type of symptoms.  Specifically, I’m wondering if there is a gluten or wheat allergy going on with me.

I plan on getting an appointment with my doctor as soon as I can, to get a complete physical and maybe some type of allergy test.  I am hoping that will give me the answers.  I don’t look sick and I don’t have typical “sick” symptoms but I feel so run down and just blech.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Happy Sunday!

3 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. Hey Lori,

    It definitely sounds like it could be a wheat/gluten/gliadin allergy or sensitivity. I get exactly the same symptoms after I eat anything containing wheat! I stopped eating them and started buying wheat/gluten-free breads, pastas, and other foods about six weeks ago and I have much more energy and haven’t had any episodes of being achy, tired, gassy, etc. It can’t hurt to try it, you know?

    This is very much worth watching: http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7420352n

    Also I increased my antioxidant/anti-inflammatory foods (blueberries, any red berries, raw cabbage, steamed broccoli, red and black beans etc.) intake.

    HTH,

    Donna/PP

  2. Thank you so much, Donna!
    Did you have a hard time going wheat/gluten-free? I have never paid attention to what products have wheat or gluten in them.

    ~Lori

  3. I had to do it gradually. But my son was already wheat/gluten free, so that made it a bit easier. There are lots of good sources for products (websites, mostly) and recipe books out there. I love The Gluten Free Pantry’s products, and Pamela’s makes incredible pastries. Trader Joe’s sells really good gluten-free breads, bagels, and burger/hot-dog buns (Udi’s) and has a full list of all their gluten-free products available at the front desk. Oh – I tried their corn pasta last night and it was delicious. Very, very slight corn taste, but otherwise very pasta-like. Not mushy or grainy.

    Honestly, I don’t even miss it.

    Donna 😀

Leave a Reply

